*Healthier* Brownie Bites

I recently bought Stevia, a natural plant sugar. Stevia is a healthier option than cane sugar because it is naturally sweet and does not affect your blood sugar. Stevia is also zero calories for those trying to watch their weight. This is one of the first recipes I have used with Stevia. To be honest with you this recipe was an accident. I was in the midst of making these brownie bites for the second time this week *no shame* when I ran out of sugar. I wasn’t too worried because I knew I had some Stevia somewhere in my baking cabinet. I took this is as a much needed sign that I needed to limit my sugar intake…Like I have been saying I am going to do!

 

The first time I made these brownie bites I didn’t use any Stevia. I personally did not notice a difference in this recipe when made with half sugar and half Stevia. They are absolutely delicious and 233 calories/18g of sugar per brownie bite…which isn’t bad compared to Ghiradelli brownies with 365 calories/33g of sugar. These are the perfect snack, but be warned they are DELICIOUS so you will want MORE!!!!

 

These muffins are fudgy and moist. They are absolutely delicious and are my new favorite snack. I usually love to share my food but I want to keep these all to myself!! I have been posting photos of these delicious brownie bites all over social media and have received various requests for the recipe..so, here you go!

20190515_153756.jpg

Yield: 18 Brownie Bites

 

Ingredients:

 

14 oz Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

½ C Butter *I used a vegan butter substitute, Earth Balance, which worked great!

3 Eggs

¼ C Applesauce *

½ C sugar

¼ C Brown Sugar

1 TB Vanilla Extract

½ tspn Salt

¾ C All-Purpose Flour

¼ C Cocoa Powder

½ tspn Stevia (powder)

½ C Chocolate Chips

 

Directions:

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES F

  1. Line muffin pan or spray with non stick.
  1. Melt butter and chocolate in a saucepan. Combine, set to side.
  2. Combine eggs, applesauce, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla extract and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl combine flour, Stevia and cocoa powder.
  4. Pour butter and chocolate combination into the wet mixture.
  5. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture.
  6. Pour the remaining chocolate chips into the brownie batter, combine.
  7. Fill the muffin tins ½ to ¾ of the way.
  8. Bake 20 minutes.
  9. Let sit about 10 minutes before eating and ENJOY!!!

 

You can definitely make this recipe without any sugar, simply increase Stevia to 1 tspn and applesauce to ⅓ c.

If choosing to use no Stevia increase sugar to 1 cup, omit applesauce.

 

I hope you all enjoy these *healthier* brownie bites:)

 

Morgan Hope

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close